Boombox

Keeping Company [Be]

Creation 2023

Boombox

Keeping Company [Be]

circus, sound, cassettes

BOOMBOX is an homage to cassette tapes. From their indestructible outer shells to their delicate spools of polyester plastic film, their design is a microcosm of our desire as humans to organize and understand the world that we live in, label it, and put it in a box. But the chaos will always find its way out. And when it does, what happens then? . . . .

The audience is close, intimate. In this small space, the importance of every detail is magnified. Every sound is precious, every breath is perceptible, and moments are recorded so that they can be remembered forever. ‘And what makes you feel at home?’ . .

The character on stage solicits our ears to take us through his story. He plays little moments from his life that take us on a journey with him, letting us land gently in his sensory landscape. .

*boombox = large stereo radio-cassette from the 80s / The cassette was invented in Hasselt (Belgium) in 1963 by Lou Ottens.

The show is designed for quiet, intimate spaces (living rooms, libraries, theatre halls, museums, etc.). Its low technical requirements make it easy to tour, and it’s environmentally friendly because the artist travels by bike and train. .

artist on stage & director : Ezra Weill auaudio designer: Marie de Broeck outside eye: Josse De Broeck dramaturge : Antonin Wicky bookings : Chantal Heck – La chouette diffusion supported by : Mira Miro, UP Circus & Performing arts, Latitude 50, Station Circus, Pianofabriek, De Markten, GC Essegem

The artist

Keeping Company [Be]

Keeping Company was founded by Ezra Weill in Brussels in 2024. Through circus, the company immerses itself in atmospheres of the past (cassettes, swing, etc.) with the aim of offering shows and artistic forms that stimulate connection, whether between the audience and the artists or the members of the audience. Convinced that art – when shared – can bring happiness, Boombox is the company’s second creation, alongside Jitter (2025) and Hats 2 Heads (2020). . .

Ezra Weill

Circus artist, dancer, musician based in Brussels, Belgium. He graduated from the National Circus School of Montreal in 2015 in smooth rope and hat juggling. Ezra combined hat manipulation with his smooth rope work to create a unique and original show. He went on to explore different forms of circus performance performing in small cabarets and large theatres, both in solo acts and collaborating with groups, from South America to Europe. . . .

Fuelled by his interest in music and dance as well as exploring his circus disciplines, Ezra is always looking to see how these different art forms can co-exist on stage in his work with Zirkus Fahraway (CH), his own creations Hats 2 Heads, Boombox, Jitter and other projects.

www.the-keepingcompany.com

Upcoming dates

There are no upcoming events.

+ more shows

Boombox

Keeping Company [Be]

Création 2023

Boombox

Keeping Company [Be]

cirque, sons, cassettes

BOOMBOX* est un hommage aux cassettes. De leurs enveloppes extérieures indestructibles à leurs délicates bobines de film plastique. Leur conception est un reflet de notre désir, en tant qu’humains, d’organiser et de comprendre le monde dans lequel nous vivons, de l’étiqueter et de le mettre en boîte. Mais le chaos trouvera toujours un moyen de s’échapper. Et quand il le fera, que se passera-t-il?

Le public est proche, intime. Dans ce petit espace, l’importance de tous les détails prennent de l’ampleur. Chaque son est précieux, chaque respiration est perceptible, et les moments sont enregistrés pour pouvoir s’en rappeler pour toujours. « Et qu’est-ce qui te fait sentir chez toi ? »

Le personnage sur scène solicite nos oreilles pour nous faire traverser son histoire. Il joue des petits instants de sa vie qui nous font voyager avec lui, en nous laissant atterrir doucement dans son paysage sensoriel.

*boombox = grand radio-cassette stéréo des années 80 / La cassette a été inventée à Hasselt (Belgique) en 1963 par Lou Ottens.

Le spectacle est conçu pour des espaces calmes et intimes (salons, bibliothèques, halls de théâtre, musées, etc). Ses faibles exigences techniques facilitent les tournées et sont respectueuses de l’environnement car l’artiste se déplace à vélo et en train.

Création & interprétation : Ezra Weill  créatrice son : Marie de Broeck  regard extérieur : Josse De Broeck  dramaturgie : Antonin Wicky  diffusion : Chantal Heck – La chouette diffusion soutenu par : Mira Miro, UP Circus & Performing arts, Latitude 50, Station Circus, Pianofabriek, De Markten, GC Essegem

L’artiste

Keeping Company [Be]

Keeping Company a été fondée par Ezra Weill en 2024 à Bruxelles. Par la voie du cirque, la compagnie se plonge dans des ambiances du passé (cassettes, swing etc.) avec le but de proposer des spectacles et des formes artistiques qui stimulent la connexion, que ce soit entre le public et les artistes ou les membres du public. Persuadé que l’art – quand il est partagé – peut amener du bonheur, Boombox est la deuxième création de la compagnie, à côté de Jitter (2025) et Hats 2 Heads (2020).

Ezra Weill

Artiste de cirque, danseur, musicien basé à Bruxelles, Belgique. Il est diplômé de l’École Nationale de Cirque de Montréal en 2015 en corde lisse et jonglerie de chapeau. Ezra a combiné la manipulation de chapeaux avec son travail sur corde lisse pour créer un spectacle unique et original. Il a ensuite exploré différentes formes de spectacle de cirque jouant dans des petits cabarets et de grands théâtres, à la fois dans des numéros en solo et en collaborant avec des groupes, de l’Amérique du Sud à l’Europe.

Nourri par son intérêt pour la musique et la danse ainsi que par l’exploration de ses disciplines de cirque, Ezra cherche toujours à savoir comment ces différentes formes d’art peuvent coexister sur scène dans son travail avec Zirkus Fahraway (CH), ses propres créations Hats 2 Heads, Boombox, Jitter ainsi que dans d’autres projets.

www.the-keepingcompany.com

Prochaines dates

29 juin 2024
18:00

+ de spectacles